bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum related how to's?  Post your questions to the membership.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Kything  (Read 5047 times)

jackson

Kything
« on: May 29, 2007, 04:01:13 PM »

Has anyone ever heard of this?  It's new to me.  I don't think I really understand the concept. ???

From what I do understand it has to do with the concept of "Oneness".  You know everyone is just a smaller part of the whole kind of thing.  Also, as it was explained to me, through meditation persons are able to communicate with each other using only "brain power".  At least this is my take on the whole thing.  Frankly, it all sounds kind of "New Age" weird to me, but then again I'm no expert.

Anyone with any info on kything?  Just being curious.

Jackson

hillsbororiver

Re: Kything
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2007, 04:28:43 PM »

Kything is from an old Scottish word, "kythe," meaning "to make visible." Madeleine L'Engle used it to describe a type of communication, in a sense like telepathy, found in several of the books in her Time Quartet.

Kything in the Time books is a sort of wordless, mind to mind communication in which one person, in essence, almost becomes another, seeing through their eyes and feeling through their senses.

Madeleine L'Engle (born November 29, 1918) is an American writer best known for her children's books, particularly the Newbery Medal-winning A Wrinkle in Time and its sequels A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and Many Waters.

Ecc 1:9  The thing that hath been, it is that which shall be; and that which is done is that which shall be done: and there is no new thing under the sun.

His Peace to you,

Joe

eggi

• Bible-Truths Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2007, 05:17:47 PM »

I've heard of kite surfing, and maybe I'll try it someday. I don't think I'll try kything though...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kite_surfing