bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Need Account Help?  Email bibletruths.forum@gmail.com   

Forgotten password reminders does not work. Contact the email above and state what you want your password changed to. (it must be at least 8 characters)

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: the "gift" analogy  (Read 8587 times)

oneofthefew

the "gift" analogy
« on: July 20, 2007, 01:21:05 AM »

Hi Everyone!

I am new to this forum and this is my first time to post. I am just so excited to fellowship with all of you.

As a former member of "christendom", we have always used the "gift" analogy when sharing salvation to "unbelievers".  We analogize that salvation is like a gift.  That though a gift is given freely it 'requires' some responsibility or effort from the one to whom the gift is given to actually "receive" the gift.

I have been praying and asking God for wisdom about how i can carefully and logically unearth the nonsense of this analogy or understand if it has the correct premises as an analogy of salvation. This is what God willed me to come up with and I really want to hear your comments or feedback if I just made some sense here =):

First I ask the simple question, "what is  a gift?"

Definition in my own words:

-a gift has an underlying purpose or intention either good or bad why it is given in the first place.
-a gift has a value, either varying degrees of triviality or significance.
-a gift is free and requires nothing from the receiver.

American Heritage Dictionary:

gift
–noun
1. something given voluntarily without payment in return, as to show favor toward someone, honor an occasion, or make a gesture of assistance; present.

God's truths:

1. It is God who constantly wills in me and so whether I refuse or accept a gift, it is caused by God Himself. (Philippians 2:13)

2. God is the perfect giver and teaches all to give. (John 3:16)