bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum related how to's?  Post your questions to the membership.

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: 100 To 1  (Read 7966 times)

sonofone

100 To 1
« on: September 24, 2007, 09:55:34 PM »

My wife and I have been attending a church now together for about two months. My wife is yet a babe in her spiritual growth and needs to be in a church to feel connected to God. I have my own beliefs about church, suffice it to say I could live without it. Nonetheless we have been going to this one church as I said for nearly two months now. I felt compelled after about a week of attending service to request an audience from the pastor of the church concerning an issue I wanted him to address. The church boast over 300 active members and over 2000 members on the roll.So getting a one on one with the pastor is as hard as sitting down with the president of the USA. So I was assigned a District Elder to address my concern. So I talk with the district Elder and tell him I have an issue with the church teaching tithes. He says that's OK brother you just haven't been taught,stick around and you will learn.Sensing that he did not understand me, I say no I understand the message, I just don't agree with it. Once again he says when the pastor teaches the class in sound doctrine you can ask him all the questions you need to.I left the conversation realizing that I really did not get anywhere with him,but I moved on. In the meantime every service and I mean this literally the Pastor gets up and finds a way to get tithing into every message. Out of nowhere a reference comes up to tithing totally unrelated to what he was preaching about,almost like a subliminal message. You're robbing God you have on God's socks,so on and so forth.So I request a second meeting with the elder and tell him I can't wait for a class on tithing I need to be heard now. So he meets with me