bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Need Account Help?  Email bibletruths.forum@gmail.com   

Forgotten password reminders does not work. Contact the email above and state what you want your password changed to. (it must be at least 8 characters)

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Latin word: ETERNAL/ETERNUS  (Read 9375 times)

Brett

Latin word: ETERNAL/ETERNUS
« on: March 18, 2006, 04:43:32 PM »

Hello,

I am studying some of history translations and Hebrew/Greek manuscriputs. I know that origianal manusctripts scripture never wrote "eternal, eternity, everylasting" etc. Jerome translated from Greek LXX/N.T. manuscripts scripture in about 382 A.D. Jerome did error words translated in Latin language from Greek manuscripts. He wrote "Eternal/Eternus" in Latin. My question is, did 'eternal/eternus' mean endless time to Latin's culture? Or mean age ? I know English word 'eternal' mean  endless time. Sometime words in English and Latin are different meaning to them just as German, Japan, etc. If you know the history of Latin word eternal/eternus mean endless time or age, let me know. I will be appreciate it. Thanks

Sonia

« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2006, 04:48:30 PM »

Hi Brett,

Here's the definiton from http://www.etymonline.com :

eternal
    c.1366 (in variant form eterne), from O.Fr. eternal, from L.L. æternalis, from L. æternus contraction of æviternus "of great age," from ævum "age." Eternity first attested c.1374. In the Mercian hymns, L. æternum is glossed by O.E. ecnisse.

HTH,
Sonia

Brett

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2006, 05:01:26 PM »

Sonia,

Thank you for the info of address website. Is "of great age" mean endless time to Latin?

Sonia

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2006, 05:29:19 PM »

Quote from: Brett
Sonia,

Thank you for the info of address website. Is "of great age" mean endless time to Latin?

I cant say for certain, but I think it just means "very old."
Sonia