bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum related how to's?  Post your questions to the membership.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about age-noun and adjective  (Read 5131 times)

Brett

Question about age-noun and adjective
« on: May 10, 2006, 07:55:13 PM »

I am still learning of noun and adjective. The Greek word for age/eon is aion and is the noun and aionios is the adjective. So, aionios is plural like ages/eons with the end of 's' is adjective? Does aion have plural like aions? If so, then what is mean aionios adjective? Hope you can help.

Thank you!  O:)

Lightseeker

Re: Question about age-noun and adjective
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2006, 02:48:30 PM »

Quote from: Brett
I am still learning of noun and adjective. The Greek word for age/eon is the noun and aionios is the adjective. So, aionios is plural like ages/eons with the end of 's' is adjective? Does aion have plural like aions? If so, then what is mean aionios adjective? Hope you can help.

Brett,  

Let me try to answer as I understand this.

The Greek word for age isn't eon, as you said...it’s aion,  and we derive the English equivalent word, 'eon', from it.  The Greek word aion and the English word eon are best defined as 'a long period of time', but they do not mean 'eternity'.  If it meant 'eternity', then scripture which says 'in the ages/aion to come' wouldn't make sense (in the eternities to come???).  

The word aionios is derived from the word aion, and that’s the word (aionios) that bible translators incorrectly translate "eternity".  It is a fundamental law of grammar that a derivative cannot have a force greater than that which it is derived from.  So, if the noun aion means an age or long period of time...the derivative aionios cannot possibly be translated as eternity.