bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum related how to's?  Post your questions to the membership.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: John Mark and John the Baptist  (Read 10624 times)

kweli

John Mark and John the Baptist
« on: August 18, 2008, 05:08:36 AM »

Hello everyone

I have a question on something I'm a bit stuck with.

In Acts, Peter (sort of) had a 'side kick' named John. Later I came to understand that the same John is surnamed Mark (which, I kind of thought, is the Mark that wrote the second synoptic gospel). Then, I read John (the Baptist) and Revelations to study his writing style. And then I studied the Johns (I John to III John) and noticed a writing style that is more aligned to the style in the Peters (I and II Peter). It kind of fits well as Peter and John (surnamed Mark) were recorded as being together during their ministry, after pouring down of the Holy Spirit. So now I'm stuck.

Commentaries say John the baptist wrote the Johns, but they aren't John's style. Is John (in Acts) Mark? the other that got me concerned is the 'we' that apostles use when they speak of their ministries. What am I missing?

I don't have an answer already so any response will be welcome.

All Glory to GOD

kweli

hillsbororiver

Re: John Mark and John the Baptist
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2008, 09:05:18 AM »

Hi Kweli,

Peter's "sidekick" was indeed Mark (John Mark) writer of "The Gospel of Mark." John the Baptist was not an author of any books (he was beheaded by Herod right at the beginning of Christ's ministry) but the other John (brother of James,son of thunder/disciple Jesus loved) wrote the 4th Gospel as well as 1John, 2John, 3John.

Luke accompanied Paul through much of Paul's ministry and was the primary author of Acts.

As to your other question;

"the other that got me concerned is the 'we' that apostles use when they speak of their ministries. What am I missing?"