bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Need Account Help?  Email bibletruths.forum@gmail.com   

Forgotten password reminders does not work. Contact the email above and state what you want your password changed to. (it must be at least 8 characters)

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How prideful are you these days?  (Read 5693 times)

Richard D

How prideful are you these days?
« on: October 25, 2008, 10:12:34 PM »

Once I was a military soldier in the United Air Force and I was reflecting basic training and had remembered how we were taught to be proud of our country and of ourselves.

Pride seemed to be a pretty big thing in the arm forces from spit shining our shoes to making hospital folds on our bedding and marching in step. It was always about having pride in ourselves and God help you if you did not have it.

Today I’ll go to the store with a five o’clock shadow, dirty cloths and hair uncombed and feel no shame at all. I wonder if God could be behinds this…lol.

Everything I was taught about pride in myself has no place with God. I guess one could call that military injustice.

I guess I must cause people to sin with my lack of pride these days.  ???

Jackie Lee

Re: How prideful are you these days?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2008, 01:01:35 AM »

It seems to me sometimes pride can be an idol, I don't have to have the best like I wanted before.
It doesn't bother me to buy used clothing at thrift shops or flea markets.
The things I prided myself with seem to not matter so much anymore.

I would never go to the store with a 5 0 clock shadow though...Teasing a bit. :D

Seriously though sometimes the things we value the most either just don't mean as much or gets yanked away.

Marlene

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2008, 02:32:09 AM »

Hello, Like the Bible says Pride comes before the fall.

I agree with you both.

In His Love,
Marlene

Martinez