bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Forum related how to's?  Post your questions to the membership.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: come and i will give you rest  (Read 6650 times)

croatankid

come and i will give you rest
« on: February 04, 2009, 11:13:09 PM »

"come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and i will give you rest" Matthew 11:28.
but does he?  please bear with me as i'm not good at this.  paul asked god to remove the thorn from his flesh but god told him that his grace was sufficient.  if lifes' troubles are to be born by us what good does it do us to pray for relief?  yet we are advised to pray about all things.  if you think you understand what i'm asking, please offer an answer or advice.  thanks! 

Beloved

Re: come and i will give you rest
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2009, 11:35:48 PM »

I am not sure I understand the question but I think that when we see the thorns and tribulations that each of us are given we are to pray, it is a means and opportunity to show that we are in agreement with the Father's will.

We may not like the thorn or tribulation but we know for certain that He is Soveregn and that there is a purpose for the thorn. It may be grace the noun or grace the verb...but it is God showing "love toward a son."..working to change you in His image. His Grace is sufficient to do this.

Those that toil and are burdened are those that try to "handle or solve the problem through self are only frustrating themselves.. Jesus is telling that if we come and be one with Him and the Father that they will have rest, knowing that God will work all toward the good.  Prayer is the mental and spiritual bridge we have for doing this

beloved

« Last Edit: February 04, 2009, 11:41:08 PM by Beloved »

Linny

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2009, 11:35:55 PM »