bible-truths.com/forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Need Account Help?  Email bibletruths.forum@gmail.com   

Forgotten password reminders does not work. Contact the email above and state what you want your password changed to. (it must be at least 8 characters)

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Esword question  (Read 5250 times)

ciy

Esword question
« on: June 04, 2006, 12:46:00 PM »

I am just getting into to Esword.  Can anyone tell me if it has a dictionary in its files that translates eternal - aion as an age or finite period?
Thanks.
CIY

Andy_MI

Esword question
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2006, 01:01:51 PM »

I've found 3 bible translations for esword that correctly translate the greek and hebrew for eternal, everlasting, etc.

Concordant Literal Version:
Joh 3:16 For thus God loves the world, so that He gives His only-begotten Son, that everyone who is believing in Him should not be perishing, but may be having life eonian."

Rotherham's Emphasized Version:
Joh 3:16 For God, so loved, the world, that, his Only Begotten Son, he gave,—that, whosoever believeth on him, might not perish, but have life age-abiding.

Young's Literal Translation:
Joh 3:16  for God did so love the world, that His Son--the only begotten--He gave, that every one who is believing in him may not perish, but may have life age-during.

I found the YLT on the esword website. The other two I found on http://www.thechan.com

I hope this helps,

Love in Christ,

Andy

ciy

Esword question
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2006, 01:06:35 PM »

Thanks Andy. That will help.
CIY

ertsky

Esword question
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2006, 02:59:35 PM »

Hi ciy

have you sussed out the KJV+ strongs numbers ?

used in conjunction with the strongs and thayers greek dictionaries.